Tuesday, May 29, 2012

12 senators vote to convict Corona so far

source: gmanetwork.com

In the highly anticipated last day of the impeachment trial of Chief Justice Renato Corona, 12 senators have so far voted to convict the chief magistrate.

A two-thirds vote from the Senate, in this case 16 out of its 23 members, is needed to convict an impeachable official.

During Tuesday's voting on Article II of the impeachment complaint, which is the non-disclosure of properties in his statements of assets, liabilities and net worth (SALN), the following senators found Corona guilty:

Edgardo Angara
Alan Peter Cayetano
Pia Cayetano
Franklin Drilon
Francis Escudero
Jinggoy Estrada
Teofisto Guingona III
Gregorio Honasan II
Panfilo Lacson
Lito Lapid
Loren Legarda
Sergio OsmeƱa III

On the other hand, the following senators have voted to acquit the chief justice:

Joker Arroyo
Miriam Defensor-Santiago
Ferdinand Marcos Jr.

According to the charter, “judgment in cases of impeachment shall not extend further than removal from office and disqualification to hold any office under the Republic of the Philippines.”

source: gmanetwork.com

No comments:

Post a Comment