Saturday, June 16, 2012



Franco is a Filipino rock supergroup with members from different Filipino bands. The lineup consists of Franco Reyes (of InYo) on vocals, Gabby Alipe (of Urbandub) on guitar, Paolo "8" Toleran (of Queso) on guitar, Buwi Meneses (of Parokya ni Edgar) on bass guitar, and JanJan Mendoza (of Urbandub) on drums.


Franco started as a collaboration project between Toleran,Meneses and Mendoza, who are veterans of the Pinoy rock scene. Later on, they decided to look for a front man to help their project band take off. In late 2008, Alipe, Mendoza, Toleran and Meneses collaborated with Reyes, who returned to the Philippines, to form Franco.

Mainstream Success

Franco started by playing songs from Frank and Inyo. In 2009, they released their self-titled full-length album under MCA Music. Music videos for “Cast Away” and their latest single “This Gathering” were aired on Filipino music channel MYX. Franco also dominated the 2010 NU Rock Awards by winning four awards—Artist of the Year, Song of the Year for “This Gathering”, Album of the Year for their self-titled album, and the Listeners' Choice Award.

Though most of its songs were originally written by Reyes with Frank and Inyo, Franco's music is stengah to the ears and considerably heavier than the reggae-leaning sound of Frank and the alternative rock sound of Inyo. Interestingly, two songs—“Touch the Sky” and “Song for the Suspect”—have Rastafarian messages such as the spiritual use of marijuana and the belief in Jah, the almighty god of the Rastafarian faith.

Band members

Franco Reyes – Vocals/Guitars (2009–present)
Gabby Alipe – Guitars, Backing vocals (2009–present)
Paolo Toleran – Guitars (2009–present)
Buwi Meneses – Bass Guitar (2009–present)
JanJan Mendoza – Drums (2009–present)

Cris Vicuña of Bored of Trustees - Session Bass Guitar

Studio Album
Artist Album Tracks Year Records
Franco Franco Seasons
Touch The Sky
Memory Kill
A Mass for the End of Time
Last Waltz
Next Train Out
Song for the Suspect
This Gathering
For My Dearly Departed 2010 MCA Music, Inc.



"This Gathering"

"Song For The Suspect"

"Spin and Fall"

"I want you"


"Stupid Me"

Awards and nominations

NU Rock Awards

Won: Artist of the Year (2010)
Won: Album of the Year - "Franco" (2010)
Won: Song of the Year - "This Gathering" (2010)
Won: Listeners' Choice Award (2010)
Nominated: Vocalist of the Year - Carlo Dayao (2010)
Nominated: Guitarist of the Year - Gabby Alipe, Paolo Toleran, Franco Reyes (2010)
Nominated: Bassist of the Year - Buhawi Meneses (2010)
Nominated: Drummer of the Year - JanJan Mendoza (2010)
Nominated: Best New Artist (2010)

Awit Awards

Won: Best Performance By A Group Of Recording Artists - "Castaway" (2010)
Nominated: Best Performance By A New Group Of Recording Artists - "Castaway" (2010)
Nominated: Best Rock/Alternative - "Castaway" (2010)

MYX Music Awards

Nominated: Favorite New Artist - Franco (2011)


No comments:

Post a Comment